Research Project Postings - Dean's Award for Research Excellence

LA&PS students who are interested in applying for a Dean's Award for Research Excellence (DARE) should submit their résumés and expressions of interest (no later than Wed. January 24th) directly to the professors on whose projects they would like to work, using the below list of project postings.  It is recommended that students apply to two to three different projects that are of interest.

Please refer back to the DARE Program website for complete details on the program, application and adjudication process.

All questions about the DARE Program can be directed to Nadya Bloom, Research Officer in LA&PS at nbloom@yorku.ca or ext. 44565.

Project Postings Supervisor Supervisor Email School/Department Deadline to apply
Rail Safety Game Ali Asgary asgary@yorku.ca Administrative Studies Jan. 24, 2018
Archival Text Transcription Naomi Adelson nadelson@yorku.ca Anthropology Jan. 24, 2018
Energy Transitions and Living in the City: Adaptations and Vulnerabilities Concerning Home and Mobility in the Greater Toronto Area Karl Schmid kschmid@yorku.ca Anthropology Jan. 24, 2018
Quantifying Reproduction: Colonialism, Birth and Women’s Health in the South Western Pacific Islands (1906-1980) Sandra Widmer swidmer@yorku.ca Anthropology Jan. 24, 2018
Canadian Community Radio Anne MacLennan amaclenn@yorku.ca Communication Studies Jan. 24, 2018
Protesting Poverty Anne MacLennan amaclenn@yorku.ca Communication Studies Jan. 24, 2018
Remembering Radio Anne MacLennan amaclenn@yorku.ca Communication Studies Jan. 24, 2018
Does Microinsurance Have a Role to Play in Improving the Lives of Low-Income Individuals in Canada? Ida Ferrara and Tsvetanka Karagyozova iferrara@yorku.ca; tkarag@yorku.ca Economics Jan. 24, 2018
Financial Inclusion, Fintech and Alternative Consumer Financial Services Brenda Spotton Visano spotton@yorku.ca Economics/ Public Policy & Administration Jan. 24, 2018
Financial Inclusion and Access to Mainstream Banking Services Brenda Spotton Visano spotton@yorku.ca Economics/ Public Policy & Administration Jan. 24, 2018
Purge, Purify, Clarify: Digital Humanities Database R. Darren Gobert gobert@yorku.ca English Jan. 24, 2018
Decolonizing the Academy: Indigenizing the Curriculum Seven Generations in the Future Elizabeth Brule ebrule@yorku.ca Equity Studies Jan. 24, 2018
Human Rights in the Age of Surveillance (book project) Maggie Quirt mquirt@yorku.ca Equity Studies Jan. 24, 2018
Edward Bernays, Doris Fleischman Bernays, and the History of “Commodity Feminist” Marketing Julie E. Dowsett jdowsett@yorku.ca Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies Jan. 24, 2018
A paleoenvironmental approach for assessing present-day ecosystem sensitivity to thawing permafrost Jennifer Korosi jkorosi@yorku.ca Geography Jan. 24, 2018
Small patchy wetlands, Southern Iceland: Linkages between soil type and moisture dynamics Kathy L. Young klyoung@yorku.ca Geography Jan. 24, 2018
Shape stability of phenomena as assessed from mulit-scale vertical profile UAV imagery Tarmo K Remmel remmelt@yorku.ca Geography Jan. 24, 2018
The Morphology & Formation of Mima Mounds Peter Long long@yorku.ca Geography Jan. 24, 2018
The Prime Ministers and the Jews David Koffman koffman@yorku.ca History Jan. 24, 2018
Boko Haram, Islamic Protest and National Security Paul E. Lovejoy plovejoy@yorku.ca History Jan. 24, 2018
Expressive Cultures of the African Diaspora Paul E. Lovejoy plovejoy@yorku.ca History Jan. 24, 2018
The making of "Greektown". Mapping Greek presence in Toronto, 1950s - 1970s Athanasios (Sakis) Gekas agekas@yorku.ca History Jan. 24, 2018
“Improvising the law of copyright in music: music publishers, composers, and copyright litigation in Great Britain from 1777 to 1842” Roger S. Fisher rfisher@yorku.ca Humanities Jan. 24, 2018
Be/longing: Somali Girls in Toronto Andrea Davis aadavis@yorku.ca Humanities Jan. 24, 2018
Working conditions and gender dynamics in the global garment industry: A comparative study of Bangladesh, Cambodia, Kenya, Lesotho and Vietnam Kelly Pike kpike@yorku.ca Human Resource Management Jan. 24, 2018
Towards Digital Sovereignty – Inclusive and Sustainable Development through the Indigenous Friends Mobile App Stephen Chen sychen@yorku.ca Information Technology Jan. 24, 2018
Sustainability through Ecosystem Health: On-line Information Portal Peter Khaiter pkhaiter@yorku.ca Information Technology Jan. 24, 2018
Urban Big Data Analytics for Location-Based Services Xiaohui Yu xhyu@yorku.ca Information Technology Jan. 24, 2018
Italian food, language and social media Roberta Iannacito-Provenzano roberta@yorku.ca Languages, Literatures & Linguistics Jan. 24, 2018
Hindi-Urdu Heritage Teaching in Light of Language Ideology and Language Politics Shobna Nijhawan shobna@yorku.ca Languages, Literatures & Linguistics Jan. 24, 2018
Kinds of Minds Kristin Andrews andrewsk@yorku.ca Philosophy Jan. 24, 2018
Global Employment Standards Database Leah Vosko lvosko@yorku.ca Politics Jan. 24, 2018
Canada and the UN Human Rights Committee Jacqueline Krikorian jdk@yorku.ca Politics Jan. 24, 2018
Canada's Temporary Labour Migration Programs: Policy Changes, Policy Effects, and Migrant Resistance Ethel Tungohan tungohan@yorku.ca Politics Jan. 24, 2018
Militarisation and Popular Culture in Canada David Mutimer dmutimer@yorku.ca Politics Jan. 24, 2018
A media ceiling? Gender representation in print news-media photographs of public servants Caroline Dufour cdufour@yorku.ca Politics Jan. 24, 2018
Ownership, Control & Regulation of the Internet of Things Natasha Tusikov ntusikov@yorku.ca Social Science Jan. 24, 2018
Urbanization, gender and the global south: a transformative knowledge network Linda Peake lpeake@yorku.ca Social Science Jan. 24, 2018
Evolving Legal Services: Measuring Impact on Access to Justice Lesley Jacobs jacobs@yorku.ca Social Science Jan. 24, 2018
Vanishing North: Visualizing and (re)imagining climate change in the Canadian Arctic Matt Tegelberg and Anita Lam mtegel@yorku.ca;
lamanita@yorku.ca
Social Science Jan. 24, 2018
Refugee Vetting Process Ozgun Topak ozgunt@yorku.ca Social Science Jan. 24, 2018
Conjugal Slavery in War research Partnership Annie Bunting abunting@yorku.ca Social Science Jan. 24, 2018
Reading Indigenous legal spaces David Szablowski davidsz@yorku.ca Social Science Jan. 24, 2018
Citizenship and Employment Precarity Luin Goldring goldring@yorku.ca Sociology Jan. 24, 2018
Walk the Walk: Experiential learning and university campus field trips Zoë Newman znewman@yorku.ca Sociology Jan. 24, 2018
Antifa and alt-right: movement/counter-movement dynamics in the post-Trump era Lesley Wood ljwood@yorku.ca Sociology Jan. 24, 2018
Theorizing practice, practicing theories Soma Chatterjee schat@yorku.ca Social Work Jan. 24, 2018