Committee on Student Academic Petitions and Appeals


Approved June 2014

When constituted as the Petitions Committee, the Committee shall:

  1. Track statistical data and, in light of them, make recommendations to Council on policy matters and procedures relating to student academic petitions.

16 faculty members elected at-large for a two-year term
Eight students appointed by the Student Council of the Liberal Arts & Professional Studies on an annual basis

Ex-officio (non-voting) members
Dean or dean’s designate
Chair of Faculty Council or designate
Secretary of Council or designate

Faculty members will be elected at-large for two-year rolling cycle.  Each year, half of the membership turns over and will be replaced on a rotational basis. The Chair of the Committee is selected by the voting members of the Committee for a one-year term.   At all times there shall be at least one member from each of the professional, humanities, and social sciences Departments/Schools. Units will self-identify as one of the following:  humanities, social science, or professional studies, reported to the Council Office by January 1.

At least half of the voting members of the Committee, the majority of whom are full-time faculty members, constitutes a quorum.

When constituted as the Petitions Adjudications Committee, the Committee shall:

  1. Receive and act on student academic petitions and grade reappraisal appeals, including petitions against the application of Faculty, Departmental and School rules and regulations;
  2. Meet in panels for consideration of cases for the adjudication of petitions and appeals against previous committee decisions.

Petitions Adjudication Committee Membership:

Panels will consist of six voting members of whom two are students, elected by and from the Committee on Student Academic Petitions.  Normally, a panel will have at least three members to adjudicate student academic petitions, of whom one must be a student. During the summer months, or when quorum requirements cannot otherwise be met, membership may be supplemented by a reserve membership drawn from among former members of the Committee.

There shall be no ex-officio members.

Membership 2016-2017

Chair: Chris Robinson, School of Administrative Studies

Sarah Blake, Department of Humanities
Cael Cohen, Department of Philosophy
Gordana Colby, Department of Economics
Cheryl Cowdy, Department of Humanities
Lykke de la Cour, Department of Social Science
Mary Goitom, School of Social Work
Rob Heynen, Department of Communication Studies
Kwok Ho, School of Administrative Studies
Ann Kim, Department of Sociology
Alla Lileeva, Department of Economics
Alexandru Manafu, Department of Philosophy
Margaret Schotte, Department of History
Andrei Semenov, Department of Economics
Jon Sufrin, Writing Department
Jeremy Trevett, Department of History

Representatives from SCOLAPS:

Brian Choi
Cory Lewis
Jelena Stakic
Lisa Stewart
Naveera Khan
Sajanika Sivanusa
Younes Zangiabadi
Zainab Alfaraj

Ex-Officio Members (non- voting):

Peter Avery, Associate Dean, Students
Chair of Faculty Council or designate
Cathy Genua, Petitions Coordinator
Stephen Davis, Petitions Officer

Scheduled Meeting Dates 2016-2017

The Committee will normally meet twice a week every other week on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday & Thursday in four rotating panels.

Reports & Documents

Archived Student Appeals and Academic Integrity Committee Agendas, Minutes, and Synopses


Date Agenda (PDF) Additional Documents
 September 15, 2014 Agenda Package
February 9, 2015  Agenda Package
 May 11, 2015  Agenda Package


 September 16, 2013 Agenda Package
 October 21, 2013  Agenda Package
 February 10, 2014  Agenda Package
 May 12, 2014  Agenda Package


 September 16, 2013 Agenda Package
 October 21, 2013  Agenda Package
 February 10, 2014  Agenda Package
 May 12, 2014  Agenda Package



 September 12, 2011 Agenda Package
 November 14, 2011  Agenda Package
 February 13, 2012  Agenda Package
 April 16, 2012  Agenda Package
 May 14, 2012  Agenda Package
 April 2, 2012  Agenda Package
 June 4, 2012  Agenda Package


 September 13, 2010 Agenda Package
 October 18, 2010  Agenda Package
 November 8, 2011  Agenda Package
 March 21, 2011  Agenda Package
 April 11, 2011  Agenda Package
 May 16, 2011  Agenda Package
 June 13, 2011  Agenda Package


 September 14, 2009 Agenda Package
 November 9, 2009  Agenda Package
 December 14, 2009  Agenda Package
 January 18, 2010  Agenda Package
 March 8, 2010  Agenda Package
 April 12, 2010  Agenda Package
 May 17, 2010  Agenda Package