Major Prizes, Awards and Fellowships

The LA&PS Research Unit offers advice and assistance to faculty members in the identification, preparation and submission of nomination and application packages for major national and international prizes, fellowships and awards.

If you are interested in one of the below opportunities, please consult the information provided regarding nomination / application procedures and deadlines.

Upcoming competitions are announced to the York University community via the Office of Research Services listserv throughout the calendar year.


January – John Charles Polanyi Prizes ($20.000)

For outstanding recent PhD graduates and new faculty, the prizes are available in the areas broadly defined as Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature, and Economic Science.

March – Royal Society of Canada College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists

For outstanding scholars, scientists, and artists who are within 15 years of receiving their PhD or equivalent.

March – Royal Society of Canada Medals and Awards

RSC Medals and Awards are designated for eminent Canadian scholars and researchers who have had outstanding achievements in research and scholarship. There are several different medals and awards available to researchers in the social sciences and humanities.

April – SSHRC Impact Awards (Gold Medal - $100,000, Insight, Connection, Partnership, and Talent - $50,000 each category)

The awards recognize outstanding researchers and celebrate their achievements in research, research training, knowledge mobilization and outreach activities funded partially or completely by SSHRC.

May – Killam Research Fellowship (Course/administrative release for 2 years, value: $140,000)

The fellowships support outstanding scholars (normally full professors at Canadian universities and research institutes) to carry out their groundbreaking projects in the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, health sciences, engineering and interdisciplinary studies within these fields.

June – Killam Prizes (up to 5 prizes, $100,000 each)

These prizes honour distinguished Canadian scholars who have been engaged in research in the following disciplines:

  • Humanities
  • Social Sciences
  • Natural Sciences
  • Health Sciences
  • Engineering

November – Traditional Fulbright Awards (valued at $12,500 for one semester, either September or January)

These fellowships are open to Canadian scholars in all fields and are designed to enable emerging and established scholars, post-doctoral researchers and experienced professionals to conduct research, teach, or undertake a combination of both activities for one semester or a full academic year at any university or research center of their choice in the United States.

November – Canada-U.S. Fulbright Visiting Research Chairs Program (up to 1 year residency, plus $25,000)

These awards are intended for Canadian citizens who are exceptional scholars and/or experienced professionals who wish to conduct research and/or lecture in the United States.

December – Trudeau Foundation Fellowship ($150,000 over 3 years, plus $50,000 prize, & $25,000 for travel to Foundation Events)

These fellowships are for researchers who have set themselves apart through their capacity to propose creative solutions to important issues and their ability to inform public debate beyond the academic sphere. Specifically for Humanities and Social Sciences scholars working across one or more of the following themes:

  • Human Rights and Dignity
  • Responsible Citizenship
  • Canada in the World
  • People and their Natural Environment

December – Fellows of the Royal Society of Canada

Nominations can only be initiated by existing Fellows or Institutional Members. The criterion for nomination is excellence, which is understood to encompass the goals of diversity and inclusivity to which the RSC is committed, and to which the membership of RSC is expected to exemplify in terms of discipline, gender, ethno-racial diversity, aboriginality, and official languages.

December – Molson Prize – Canada Council for the Arts ($50,000 for 1 year)

Molson Prizes are awarded to two persons – one in the arts and the other in the social sciences and humanities, who have distinguished themselves by their outstanding achievements. The prizes are intended to encourage ongoing contributions to Canada's cultural and intellectual heritage.